Responsible to supervise and exercise administrative control on the staff of the laboratory and shall be responsible for;

  • Realizing the mission of the institute
  • Creating an environment in the institute conducive to nurturing of innovation and high class R&D and other S&T activities
  • Managing the affairs of institute as per decisions of the Management Council.

The Directors shall in all matters have powers delegated to him by the GB, CSIR. He is the head of department of Govt. of India as per DFFR Rules (Rule 53 A of CSIR Bye-laws & Delegation of powers in CSIR).

Controller of Administration

The Controller of Administration is the senior most functionary of Administration. He has to advise & assist the Director on all the administrative matters and is responsible for providing support services to the Director & other bench level Scientists in the matters under his control as per GOI/CSIR rules. The CoA of the institute also performs the functions of the Estate Officer of CRRI Office Campus as well as the CRRI Residential Colony in accordance with CSIR instructions.The CoA also performs the duties of the Vigilance Officer of the institute and reports to the Chief Vigilance Officer, CSIR Hqrs. on all matters within the purview of vigilance as per instructions issued by the Chief Vigilance Officer, CSIR.

He is assisted by AO & SO's depending upon duties assigned to them (By-law 17 of CSIR). He/She is also the Head of office & Member-Secretary to Management Council of the Institute.

Administrative Officer

To assist & provide support to COA & Director as the case may be. He is the Branch Officer & Nodal Officer in administrative activities.

Following are the administrative sections:

Staff List of Director’s Office

Prof. Satish Chandra


Sh. Ravi Kumar

Multitasking Staff

Staff List of Sr.COA’s Office

Smt. Sangeeta Banerjee

Sr. Controller of Administration

Sh. Vijay Kumar

JR. Stenographer (ACP)

Sh. Yogender Mehto

Multitasking Staff

Sh. S.P Thakur

Laboratory Assistant

Staff List of AO Office

Sh. Sanjeev Shankar

Administrative Officer

Sh. Biranchi Sarang

Administrative Officer

Sh. Rakesh Kumar

Senior Stenographer

Sh. Dharam Singh


Smt. Priti Sachdewa


Sh. Desh Raj

Multitasking Staff

Sh. Om Parkash


Sh. Ram Singh